SpineSection.org Logo AANS Logo CNS Logo
AANS/CNS Joint Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves

Friday, September 22, 2017

Apfelbaum Award - $20000

The Apfelbaum Award sponsored by Aesculap is for either basic or clinical research related to the spine with funding up to $20,000. This research award is intended to establish funding for research related to the spine, and to provide a means of peer review for clinical research projects to help improve the quality of the proposal and therefore, enhance competitiveness for National Institutes of Health (NIH) funding. The award is also meant to create an annual funding mechanism to establish the AANS/CNS Spine Section as a known source for quality clinical research aimed at answering questions pertaining to the treatment of disorders of the spine and peripheral nerves.

Previous Recipients

2012Jason Liauw, MDJason Liauw, MD, is a Johns Hopkins Neurosurgery resident pursuing a spine fellowship. Dr. Liauw received his undergraduate degree from Washington University in St. Louis and medical degree from Stanford University School of Medicine. During his tenure at Stanford University, Dr. Liauw was an American Heart and Stroke Association Fellow under Dr. Gary Steinberg. This research award will support his project studying the therapeutic potential of Forteo for augmenting spinal fusion.Johns Hopkins
2011Zachary A. Smith, MDZachary A. Smith, MD, completed his undergraduate degree as a Presidential Scholar from Dartmouth College and received his medical degree from the UCLA School of Medicine. In 2010, he completed neurosurgical training at UCLA. During his neurosurgical training, he developed a specific interest in minimally invasive surgical techniques in the spine while working under the mentorship of Dr. Larry T. Khoo. As a recipient of the Apfelbaum Award, he will work under the guidance of Dr. Richard G. Fessler at Northwestern during his one-year clinical fellowship. His research award will support a biomechanical study titled, “Biomechanical Comparison of Minimally Invasive Spinal Decompression vs. Open Lumbar Laminectomy.”Northwestern University
2010John H. Shin, MDDr. Shin is currently a spine surgery fellow at the Cleveland Clinic and is pursuing a combined clinical and research fellowship. He received his undergraduate degree from Brown University and medical degree from the Chicago Medical School. In 2009, he completed neurosurgery residency at the University of Illinois at Chicago under Dr. Fady T. Charbel, during which time he developed interests in spine oncology, spinal cord injury, and spine outcomes research. Under the guidance of Dr. Michael P. Steinmetz, this research award will support his project, “Regeneration of Bladder Function following Spinal Cord Injury: A Combined Therapeutic Strategy Utilizing Macrophage Depletion, cAMP Elevation, and Neural Stem Cell Transplantation.”Cleveland Clinic
2009Mohammed Farid Shamji, MD, PhDThis award will support investigation into the therapeutic efficacy of anticytokine drug depots upon application to an animal model of disc-herniation radiculopathy.The Ottawa Hospital, Canada
2008Vassilos DimopoulosProject Title: Role of nogo receptions NgR1 and NgR2 to promote spinal cord injury.University of Rochester

© 2004 - 2017 SpineSection.org
All Rights Reserved
Home | Newsletter | Meetings | Education | Calendar | Officers/Committees | Membership
Rules & Regulations | Objectives & By-Laws | Fellowships & Awards | Links | Contact Us | Members Only