• Kline Award for Basic or Clinical Peripheral Nerve Research

                 This grant was made possible by a generous gift from the Integra Foundation.

    Grant Description 

    The Kline Research Award is intended to support impactful basic or clinical research related to peripheral nerves. This research award is meant to establish funding for research related to the peripheral nerves, and to provide a means of peer review for clinical research projects to help improve the quality of the proposal and therefore, enhance competitiveness for eventual federal funding. Depending upon the quality of the award submissions, there may be one award annually. The award is intended for primary investigators who are neurosurgeons or neurosurgery residents with proposed research requiring national level funding, to support the preparation of grant proposals and external consultations and to assist in the development of the proposal, planning meetings, and the collection of pilot data. Applications with biostatistical mentorship or assistance will be given preferential ranking. Proposals will be evaluated on the basis of relevance, innovation, methodology, and feasibility.


    The Principal Investigator (PI) must be an M.D. or D.O. within 5 years of having completed residency training or currently enrolled in good standing, in an accredited Neurosurgery Residency Program. The applicant must be a member of the AANS/CNS Joint Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves. If the applicant is a fellow or a resident, s/he must have a faculty sponsor from an accredited educational institution. The successful applicant will hold their primary appointment in Neurosurgery Department in Canada or the United States. 



    Up to $10,000. Monies may be used toward personnel, equipment, and supplies. Investigator salary support, travel, and institutional costs will not be funded.


    Reporting Requirements

    Recipients of the research grants are required to provide a 6 month progress report and an oral presentation at the Section meeting 1 year after the receipt of the grant. Fifty percent of the award will be given initially, and the remaining monies will be distributed after the progress report has been approved by the Awards Committee and the Executive Committee of the Spine Section.

    Attendance at the Section meeting to receive the grant is also strongly suggested. 

    Application Deadline

    January 15th, 2020

    Application Information-

    Previous Recipients

    2019 Christopher Frances Dibble, MD
    2018 Ilyas Eli, MD
    2017 Stephen Burks, MD
    2016 Raj Midha, MD
    2015 Stepan Capek, MD
    2014 Yuval Shapira, MD
    2013 Zarina S. Ali, MD
    2012 Chetan Bettegowda, MD
    2011 Jacob D. Alant, MBChB, Mmed, FRCS(C)
    2010 Gerald Tuite, MD
    2009 Wilson Z. Ray, MD
    2008 Nathan J. Ranalli, MD



We use cookies to improve the performance of our site, to analyze the traffic to our site, and to personalize your experience of the site. You can control cookies through your browser settings. Please find more information on the cookies used on our site here. Privacy Policy