• Mayfield Clinical Science Award

    Award Description 

    The Mayfield Awards are presented annually by the Joint Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves to the neurosurgical residents or BC/BE fellows in North American training who author the outstanding manuscripts detailing a laboratory or clinical investigation in the area of spinal or peripheral nerve disorders. This award is also applicable to individuals in DO training programs. The manuscript for this award is presented by attaching to the related abstract in the call for abstract process. Two awards are available, one for clinical research and one for basic science research. Each recipient will receive an honorarium and also to cover the expenses of attendance at the annual meeting of the Section. Abstracts to be considered for the Mayfield Award should be identified as such on the annual meeting abstract submission form and submitted prior to deadline. 


    Same as abstract submission deadline.

    Submission Process

    Submitted at the same time as abstract submission.


    Previous Basic Science Research Award Recipients

    Year Name
    2010 Wilson Zachary Ray, MD
    2009 Daniel L. Master, MD
    2008 Ann Margaret Parr
    2007 Sharad Rajpal
    2006 Toshitaka Seki
    2005 John Y. K. Lee
    2004 Bryan B. Barnes
    2002 Edward R. Smith
    2001 Ketan R. Bulsara
    2000 Neill M. Wright
    1999 Steven Casha
    1998 Tord D. Alden
    1997 Michael A. Morone
    1996 Paul C. Francel
    1995 Simcha J. Weller
    1994 Timothy C. Ryken
    1993 Allan D. Levi
    1992 Rajiv Midha
    1991 Peter G. Gianaris
    1990 R. John Hurlbert
    1989 Richard K. Simpson, Jr.
    1987 John A. Feldenzer
    1985 Abhijit Guha
    1984 Mark N. Hadley



    Previous Clinical Science Reasearch Award Recipients

    Year Name
    2010 Raqeeb Haque, MD
    2009 Matthew B.Maserati, MD
    2008 Dennis E. Cramer
    2008 Matthew M. Kang
    2007 Florian Roser
    2006 Benson Yang
    2005 Nicholas H. Post
    2004 Michael Y. Wang
    2002 Ketan R. Bulsara
    2001 Gordon W. Tang
    2000 Viswanathan Rajaraman
    1999 Nicholas Theodore
    1996 Paul D. Sawin
    1993 Gerald F. Tuite

We use cookies to improve the performance of our site, to analyze the traffic to our site, and to personalize your experience of the site. You can control cookies through your browser settings. Please find more information on the cookies used on our site here. Privacy Policy