• The 2017 CNS Annual Meeting


    The 67th Annual Meeting of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons

    October 7-11, 2017
    Boston, Massachusetts

    The 2017 CNS Annual Meeting was the culmination of a year of exciting expansion across the CNS. Bringing together members, faculty, volunteers, staff, and industry partners, the meeting reinvented the process of providing innovative, inclusive, and relevant education to members. Standout experiences included a focus on the future of medicine, and the use of virtual reality to augment surgical practice. The new CNS Central and Xperience Lounge provided dedicated spaces for members to see brilliant new technologies, interact with peers, and have their questions answered by CNS staff.

    Annual Meeting Highlights

    • An unprecedented Guinness Book world record attempt for most concurrent participants in a neurosurgical 360º virtual reality experience.
    • The launch of Nexus, CNS' new case-based repository of neurosurgical operative techniques and approaches, was introduced during the Tuesday general session.
    • The launch of the CNS Guidelines app, which makes official CNS-produced guidelines more accessible.
    • The CNS introduced a refreshed Journal Club delivered in podcast form. Inaugural podcasts included conversations with the award-winning authors of Neurosurgery's Paper of the Year.
    • CNS Central: Starting early Saturday morning, members gathered at CNS' new service hub to catch up with colleagues, try out the latest online educational offerings, and chat with our membership team about their benefits.
    • The centerpiece of the Exhibit Hall, the CNS Xperience Lounge, drew crowds to hear presentations from Innovation of the Year nominees and Paper of the Year authors, meet our guest speakers, and get their hands on innovative technologies that are changing neurosurgical training and practice.

    Annual Meeting by the Numbers

    The CNS Annual Meeting serves as a hub for scientific exchange, educational courses, symposia, and technology.

    • Over 28,098.5 CME credits were claimed as a result of Annual Meeting attendance
    • There were 2,563 medical registrants in attendance
    • Over 338 international attendees attended (not including Canada or Mexico)
    • 12 CNS US Active Duty Military members took advantage of CNS special benefits such as complimentary registration and free housing
    • 47 CNS Resident members received free housing
    • 38 Affiliates hosted their event during the Annual Meeting
    • The CNS Oral Board Exam Preparation Review Course drew 83 participants

    2017 CNS Annual Meeting Honored Guest and Distinguished Honorees

    CNS Honored Guest
    Alan R. Cohen, MD, FACS, FAAP

    CNS Distinguished Service Award Winner
    Richard Ellenbogen, MD

    CNS Founder's Laurel Award Winner
    Steven L. Giannotta, MD

    2017 Innovator of the Year

    New this year, the Innovator of the Year award was created to recognize new technologies, techniques, and other contributions of CNS members and corporate partners to improve the field of neurosurgery. After an open call for submissions, 32 proposals were vetted by the selection committee and three finalists were selected to present their innovations in the CNS Xperience Lounge on Monday, October 9. Annual Meeting attendees then voted on the top Innovator of the Year. The winner, Dr. Daniel A. Orringer, was announced during the Wednesday general session.

    Innovator of the Year

    Rapid Intraoperative Diagnosis through Stimulated Raman Histology

    David A. Orringer

    Top 3 Finalists

    The Smart Shunt: A Novel Shunt Catheter that Can Measure Pressure

    Carrie R. Muh

    Site-specific, Extended Release Drug Delivery System

    R. Loch Macdonald

    The Residency Program Abstract Competition is a convivial competition that brought submissions from neurosurgical residency programs around the world. The 2017 winners are:

    • First Place - University of California, San Francisco: 34 accepted abstracts
    • Second Place - Vanderbilt University Medical Center: 31 accepted abstracts
    • Third Place - University of Pittsburgh Medical Center: 26 accepted abstracts

    2017 Abstract Awards

    The Annual Meeting abstract program attracted 1,489 submissions, and continues to be an exceptional point of pride for authors, researchers, and residency programs. Abstracts were presented through oral presentations, rapid-exchange sessions, and poster presentations.

    Ananth K. Vellimana
    CNS Resident Award

    Tareq A. Juratli
    National Brain Tumor Society Mahaley Clinical Research Award

    Jian Guan
    Julius Goodman Resident Award

    Arka Mallela
    American Brain Tumor Association Young Investigator Award

    Hongwei Zhang
    Columbia Softball Pediatric Brain Tumor Award

    Matthew Garrett
    Preuss Award

    Matthew Agam
    Integra Foundation Award

    Suganth Suppiah
    Stryker Neuro-Oncology Award

    Derek W. Yecies
    Sherry Apple Resident Travel Scholarship

    Robert Y. North
    Ronald R. Tasker Young Investigator Award

    Jizong Zhao
    Galbraith Award

    Adomas Bunevicius
    Brainlab Neurosurgery Award

    Sumeet Vadera
    Samuel Hassenbusch Young Neurosurgeon Award

    Benjamin L. Grannan
    Stereotactic And Functional Neurosurgery Resident Award

    Jason K. Karimy
    Joint AANS/CNS Cerebrovascular Section Abstract Award

    Fahad A. Alkherayf
    Synthes Skull Base Surgery Award

    Desmond A. Brown
    Journal Of Neuro-Oncology Award

    Qiang Yuan
    Think First Injury Prevention Research Award

    The 2017 SANS Challenge

    Forty residency programs participated in the official 2017 SANS Challenge, and 12 teams qualified for the live event in Boston. The SANS Challenge champions are:

    • First place - Ohio State University, Jeffrey Hatef and Ammar Shaikhouni
    • Second Place - University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Gurpreet Gandhoke and Ezequiel Goldschmidt
    • Third Place - Mayo Medical Clinic, Ross Puffer and Ben Himes

    2017 Neurosurgery Paper of the Year Award Recipients

    The Paper of the Year Awards identified and honored the most impactful papers published in Neurosurgery from June 2016-June 2017. Winning papers challenged dogma, created a paradigm shift, and got surgeons rethinking approaches to patient care, big data, and trial results.

    Paper of the Year:

    Tibor Becske

    Paper of the Year, Runner-up:

    Justin Smith, International Spine Study Group

    Paper of the Year: Section Level

    Cerebrovascular Paper of the Year: Harley Brito da Silva & Laligam Sekhar
    Neurotrauma & Critical Care: Arminas Ragauskas
    Pain: Leonardo Kapural
    Pediatrics: Diego M. Morales
    Socioeconomic: Stephen Honeybul
    Spine & Peripheral Nerve: Roger Hartl
    Stereotactic & Functional: John Corrigan
    Tumor Paper of the Year: Yasuo Iwadate

    The CNS welcomed its 2017 International Partner, the Neurological Society of India

We use cookies to improve the performance of our site, to analyze the traffic to our site, and to personalize your experience of the site. You can control cookies through your browser settings. Please find more information on the cookies used on our site here. Privacy Policy