• Ashwini Sharan, MD, Elected as President-Elect of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons Executive Committee

    • Feb 10, 2017

    SCHAUMBURG, Ill, February 2017 — Ashwini Sharan, MD has been named the president-elect of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS) Executive Committee, effective September 27, 2016. His nomination was confirmed at the CNS Annual Business Meeting in San Diego, California.

    Dr. Sharan is currently a professor of Neurological Surgery and Neurology at Thomas Jefferson University, as well as the division director of Functional and Epilepsy Surgery, and the director of the Neurosurgery Residency Program. Additionally, he leads the Surgical Epilepsy program at Thomas Jefferson University. Dr. Sharan completed his undergraduate studies at Boston University and completed medical school at UMDNJ - New Jersey Medical School in 1995. He began neurosurgical training at the University of Connecticut and completed the majority of his training at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Since then he has completed a fellowship in spinal neurosurgery and functional neurosurgery, both at The Cleveland Clinic Foundation in Cleveland, Ohio.

    Dr. Sharan has been awarded the William Buchheit Award for best teacher of the year multiple times and has organized many innovative courses educating the future neurosurgeons on the foundations of neurosurgery. He serves on the board of directors as the president of the North American Neuromodulation Society (NANS) and American Association of South Asian Neurosurgeons. He has authored numerous publications and given countless invited talks. Dr. Sharan has been a faculty member for several review courses throughout the United States and internationally.

We use cookies to improve the performance of our site, to analyze the traffic to our site, and to personalize your experience of the site. You can control cookies through your browser settings. Please find more information on the cookies used on our site here. Privacy Policy