• Editor's Note

    Author: Martina Stippler

    In this Annual Report issue of the cnsq, we look at all the CNS accomplished in 2017. This past year, the CNS has refocused on service and connection to our membership, with the aim of providing an innovative, relevant, and inclusive learning experience that focuses on the individual and their practice needs. Read more about how we have begun to deliver on that promise in this issue.

    I also would like to take this opportunity to introduce myself as the new editor for cnsq. My responsibility as the editor is to give you, our readers and members, a view of neurosurgery from a different vantage point than you may typically see, with articles and stories that illuminate our field, make you nod your head in recognition, or even rethink previously held concepts. This is your magazine, by and for you. My goal is to refresh the "q" and engage you in the unique experiences going on in our field. Our cover photo is one example of delivering unique experiences. At the Annual Meeting in Boston, we took part in a quest for the Guinness World Record for the largest group experiencing virtual reality. (We are still waiting to hear if we broke the world record.)

    I also want to take this opportunity to thank our membership for your trust and support, as well our volunteers and many committees whose hard work you will read about in the following pages. CNS Committees who have provided content for this issue include:

    2017 CNS Committee Leads

    • Membership Committee: Brian V. Nahed, MD
    • Annual Meeting Committee: James L. Harrop, MD; Alan M. Scarrow, MD, JD; Brian L. Hoh, MD; Alexander A. Khalessi, MD
    • Publications Committee: Elad I. Levy, MD; Nelson M. Oyesiku, MD, PhD; James S. Harrop, MD
    • Education Committee: Nicholas C. Bambakidis, MD; Ashok R. Asthagiri, MD
    • SANS Committee: Garni Barkhoudarian, MD; Martina Stippler, MD
    • Washington Committee: Katie Orrico; Ann R. Stroink, MD; Nicholas C. Bambakidis, MD; Alan M. Scarrow, MD, JD; Zoher Ghogawala, MD; Ashwini Sharan, MD
    • Foundation Committee: Russell R. Lonser, MD
    • Development Committee: Gerald A. Grant, MD
    • Finance Committee: Ganesh Rao, MD
    • Guidelines Committee: Brian L. Hoh, MD; Nader Pouratian, MD
    • Resident Committee: Martina Stippler, MD

    CNSQ Winter 2018 Volume 19, Number 1

    Martina Stippler, MD
    Ron L. Alterman, MD
    Erica Bisson, MD
    Nicholas M.  Boulis, MD
    Rimal Dossani, MD
    Emad Eskandar, MD
    Gerald A. Grant, MD
    Sanjeet Grewel, MD
    Kunal Gupta, MD
    James S. Harrop, MD
    Todd Charles Hollon, MD
    Jeremy Hosein, MD
    Michael Lawton, MD
    John Pollina, MD
    Edward Ringer, MD
    Tyler Schmidt, MD
    Edward Smith, MD
    Rafael Vega, MD
    Antonia D. Callas
    Michele L. Hilgart
    CameronRush, Inc.

    PRESIDENT: Ashwini D. Sharan, MD
    VICE-PRESIDENT:   James S. Harrop, MD
    SECRETARY: Steven N. Kalkanis, MD
    TREASURER: Praveen V. Mummaneni, MD
    PAST-PRESIDENT: Alan M. Scarrow, MD

    The Congress of Neurological Surgeons exists to enhance health and improve lives through the advancement of neurosurgical education and scientific exchange.

    Congress Quarterly is the official newsmagazine of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons, located at 10 North Martingale Road, Suite 190, Schaumburg, IL 60173. Members of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons may call 847.240.2500 with inquiries regarding their subscription to Congress Quarterly.

    © 2018 by the Congress of Neurological Surgeons. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form or language without written permission from the publisher. Published free of charge for the Congress membership with additional distribution. Send address changes to Congress Quarterly, 10 N. Martingale Road, Suite 109, Schaumburg, IL 60173.

We use cookies to improve the performance of our site, to analyze the traffic to our site, and to personalize your experience of the site. You can control cookies through your browser settings. Please find more information on the cookies used on our site here. Privacy Policy