• Mentorship: Service, Education, Progress. The 65th Annual Meeting of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons

    Authors: Ruby Thomas
    Elad I. Levy
    Steven N. Kalkanis

    Approximately 4,750 neurosurgeons, medical professionals, industry representatives, and guests gathered in New Orleans, September 26-30, for the 2015 Congress of Neurological Surgeons Annual Meeting. The meeting highlighted mentorship&39;s role in advancing our profession from one generation to the next.

    Campagna Chair of Neurological Surgery at Oregon Health & Science University Dr. Nathan Selden delivered the 2015 Presidential Address on the meeting theme, “Mentorship: Service, Education, Progress.” Reflecting on how mentoring is essential to the field of neurosurgery, Dr. Selden reminded us that the rewards of mentorship come from helping our students and those who come after to succeed and build upon what they have learned from us. He described the influence in his life of one of his own mentors, Dr. Karin Muraszko, Julian T. Hoff Professor and chair of the department of neurosurgery at the University of Michigan. Dr. Muraszko was later presented with the CNS Distinguished Service Award.

    Dr. Karin Muraszko, the first woman to chair a U.S. neurosurgery department, received the CNS Distinguished Service Award. CNN filmed the award presentation and her interview with former pupil Dr. Sanjay Gupta in the exhibit hall.

    Another of Dr. Selden’s mentors, Dr. Kim Burchiel, served as the Honored Guest. A pioneer in functional and stereotactic neurosurgery, pain surgery, and epilepsy neurosurgery, Dr. Burchiel gave talks on the progress over the last two decades in deep brain stimulation, on the latest indications and surgical treatment options for trigeminal neuralgia, and on new paradigms for neurosurgical education.

    Thought-provoking Guest Speakers

    Capping our plenary session in the birthplace of jazz was Grammyand Oscar-winning jazz musician, band leader, and composer Herbie Hancock, who delivered the CNS Michael L. J. Apuzzo Lecture on Creativity and Innovation.

    Rudy Giuliani, 107th mayor of New York City, gave the Walter E. Dandy Oration, expounding on six principles of leadership: strong beliefs, optimism, courage, teamwork, preparation, and communication.

    Dr. Nelson M. Oyesiku with attendees at the Young Neurosurgeon’s Luncheon.

    FOX News political analyst Juan Williams was the John Thompson History of Medicine Lecturer. Williams shared his Washington-insider perspective on potential outcomes of the 2016 U.S. Presidential election.

    Other notable guest speakers included Atul Grover, chief public policy officer of the Association of American Medical Colleges; Trevor Robbins, professor of cognitive neuroscience at the University of Cambridge; Don Walsh, the explorer and oceanographer who co-piloted the Bathyscaphe Trieste to the deepest part of the ocean; and Nobuhiro Mikuni, president of the Japanese Congress of Neurological Surgeons.

    Turkish Neurosurgical Society

    Our 2015 International Partner, the Turkish Neurosurgical Society, contributed many outstanding faculty to this year’s program. We heard from TNS President Dr. Zeki Sekerci and TNS Vice President Dr. Talat Kiris during the plenary sessions, and enjoyed an enriching historical talk on “Troy, the Cradle of Western Civilization” from Dr. Y?cel Yilmaz, president emeritus of Kadir Has University in Istanbul.

    Robust Original Science Program
    We received more than 1,600 abstract submissions this year, a five-year record. The late-breaking category received another 118 submissions. As a result, we were able to select a very strong Original Science Program, which included 105 oral presentations, 480 poster presentations, and 12 late-breaking oral presentations. Eighteen awards were presented for abstracts of outstanding merit.

    News from the Exhibit Hall
    The CNS exhibit hall has become more interactive than ever. The SCANvenger hunt, a QR-code-based activity, attracted participation from hundreds of attendees and generated new avenues of engagement with our 158 exhibitors, who showcased some truly exciting new technology.

    The CNS Member Services booth also welcomed special guests. This year’s meeting theme prominently featured neurosurgical founding father Walter E. Dandy, and many members of the Dandy family were on hand for the rerelease of Walter E. Dandy: The Personal Side of a Premier Neurosurgeon, a biography by Dr. Dandy’s daughter Mary Ellen Marmaduke.

    Mary Ellen Marmaduke signs books for Walter Dandy fans.

    Member Participation Matters

    Hundreds of talented individuals and corporate sponsors contributed their resources, time, and ideas to make the 2015 CNS Annual Meeting an inspiring five days of learning and fellowship. Thank you to all CNS members who participated in small ways and large—a meeting like this only comes together because of you. We hope to see even more CNS members get involved in the 2016 Annual Meeting, September 24-28, 2016, in gorgeous San Diego, California.

    Abstract Award Recipients

    Achal Singh Achrol, MD
    National Brain Tumor Society Mahaley Clinical Research Award

    Michael Bohl, MD
    Julius Goodman Resident Award

    Prashant Chittiboina, MD, MPH
    American Brain Tumor Association Young Investigator Award

    Christopher Salvatore Graffeo, MD, FACS
    Depuy Synthes Award for Resident Research on Spinal Cord and Spinal Column Injury

    Kyle Gregory Halvorson, MD
    Columbia Softball Charity Award

    John S. Kuo, MD, PhD, FACS
    Preuss Award

    Jared M. Pisapia, MD, MTR
    Integra Foundation Award Isaac

    Jonathan Pomeraniec, BSc
    Stryker Neuro-Oncology Award

    Sophia Shakur, MD
    Sherry Apple Resident Travel Scholarship

    Mohammed F. Shamji, MD, PhD
    Ronald R. Tasker Award

    Ashish Sonig, MD, MS, MCh
    Galbraith Award

    Robert Starke, MD, MSc
    CNS Resident Award

    Joerg-Christian Tonn, MD
    BrainLab Community Neurosurgery Award

    Raul A. Vasquez-Castellanos, MD
    Sam Hassenbusch Young Neurosurgeon Award

    Doris D. Wang, MD, PhD
    Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery Resident Award

    Helen S. Wei, MD
    Synthes Cerebrovascular Award

    Hasan Zaidi, BS, MD
    Synthes Skull Base Surgery Award

    Pascal O. Zinn, MD
    Journal of Neuro-Oncology Award

    Scott L. Zuckerman, MD, FACS
    Depuy Synthes Award for Resident Research on Brain and Craniofacial Injury

    65th CNS Annual Meeting Distinguished Honorees

    CNS Honored Guest
    Kim J. Burchiel, MD, FACS

    CNS Distinguished Service Award Winner
    Karin M. Muraszko, MD, FACCS

    CNS Founder's Laurel Award Winner
    Edward R. Laws, MD, FACS

    Christopher C. Getch Fellowship
    Brian Patrick Walcott, MD

We use cookies to improve the performance of our site, to analyze the traffic to our site, and to personalize your experience of the site. You can control cookies through your browser settings. Please find more information on the cookies used on our site here. Privacy Policy