• Two Academy members elected to the NASEM

    • Mar 09, 2020

    This past year, two AAcNS members were elected to the distinguished National Acade- my of Science, Engineering and Medicine, formerly the Institute of Medicine. They join several other AAcNS members who have held this honor.

    Edward F. Chang, MD, Chair and Professor of Neurological Surgery, University of California San Francisco
    For deciphering the functional blueprint of speech in the human cerebral cortex, pioneering advanced clinical methods for human brain mapping, and spearheading novel translational neuroprosthetic technology for paralyzed patients.

    Karin Marie Muraszko, MD, Julian T. Hoff Professor and Chair, Department of Neurosurgery, University of Michigan
    For her expertise on the treatment of individuals with brain tumors and congenital neurologic anomalies. She pioneered localized injection therapy with immunotoxin for leptomeningeal disease, presented the first prospective analysis of cerebellar mutism after posterior fossa surgery, and characterized development of syrinx spinal cord cavities with Chiari 1 malformation.

We use cookies to improve the performance of our site, to analyze the traffic to our site, and to personalize your experience of the site. You can control cookies through your browser settings. Please find more information on the cookies used on our site here. Privacy Policy